Music Ensembles

The Christ Church Choir

This auditioned ensemble sings for the 11:00 am Sunday Eucharist and special liturgies and events. Repertoire includes Gregorian Chant, Anglican Chant, and motets from the Renaissance to the 21st Century. Membership is drawn from parishioners of Christ Church as well as individuals from the Rochester community.

Rehearsals take place on Wednesday evenings from 6:30 P.M. to 8:00 P.M., as well as on Sunday mornings at 10:00 A.M. Christ Church Choir’s season begins after Labor Day, and continues until the day of Pentecost.

Christ Church Consort

Players include Aika Ito, violin; Noah Fields, viola; Ben David Aronson, sackbutt; Glenna Curren, 'cello

The Christ Church Consort consists of area professional instrumentalists and Eastman School of Music students who are studying instruments of the Renaissance and the Baroque.  Students gain liturgical playing experience and learn historic performance practice methods by performing early music repertoire with the Christ Church Choir and the Baroque Organ for the 11:00 A.M. Sunday Eucharist. Vandelinder Fellows rehearses and direct this ensemble under the mentorship of Music Director, Stephen Kennedy.

Past players have been:  Alexa Ciciretti, Daniel Ketter, Eleanor Lee, Sohee Min, Samuel Pierce, Angelina Webber

Christ Church Youth Ensemble 

This ensemble is made up of youth from the parish who sing and play instruments. Members learn music reading skills, performance skills, sacred chant, hymns of the church, and sacred motets. Christ Church VanDelinder Fellows direct and rehearse this ensemble under the mentorship of Music Director, Stephen Kennedy. Rehearsals are each Sunday (Second Sunday after Labor Day until the Day of Pentecost) 12:25 P.M. to 1:00 P.M. and the ensemble performs at the 11:00 A.M. Eucharist on the first Sunday of the month. Please contact Stephen Kennedy if you have an interested young person with interest in making music with us.

Christ Church Organists, Choir Directors, Organ Scholars 1855 to Present

1855-1866     Dellon M. and Sarah Childs Dewey, Choir Leaders   First organ – Easter Day 1864

1855-1864     Mrs. Daniel M. Beach and Mrs. William V.E. Lansing, Harmonium

1875-1889     Hugh Medcalf, Music Director

1875-1889     Edwin A. Medcalf, Organist

1889-1890     William H. Crabbe, Choir Director

1890-1902     James E. Bagley, Organist and Choir Director

1902              John Adam, Interim Organist

1902             William D’Orville Doty, Jr., Interim Choirmaster

1902-1903     John Adams Warner, Interim Organist

1902-1903     The Rev. Scott Kidder, Curate, Organist, and Choirmaster

1903-1918     William Henry Carter, Organist and Choirmaster

1918-1919       Edward Walker, Interim Organist

1919-1925     Arthur G. Young, Organist and Choirmaster

1925-1933     George Henry Day, Organist and Choirmaster

1933-1938     Donald S. Barrows, Organist and Choirmaster

1938-1941       Charles Raymond Berry, Organist and Choirmaster

1944-1946     George F. Austin, Organist

1944-1946     E. Maxwell Orley, Choirmaster

1946-1947     Charles Raymond Berry, Organist and Choirmaster

1946-1947     George F. Austin, Organist and Choirmaster

1947-1963     Frederick C. Lee, Organist

1948-1953     Blair Cosman, Assistant Organist

1952-1954     Lyndol Mitchell, Choirmaster

1954               Richard C. Einsel, Choirmaster

1954-1963     Lyndol Mitchell, Choirmaster

1963-1965     Blair Cosman, Choirmaster

1963              Harold Schwab, Organist

1965-1975     The Rev. Cyril Victor Roberts, Canon Precentor

1968-1970     Derrill Bodley, Organist

1970              Brent E Hylton, Organist

1970-1971       Mrs. Rolland H. Canfield, Organist

1971-1972       Steven Kane, Organist

1972-1973     Scott Trexler, Organist

1973               Mark Smith, Interim Organist

1973-1976     Charles Tompkins, Organist

1976               Diane Goodspeed, Interim Organist and Choirmaster

1976-1978     Wayne Barlow, Organist and Choirmaster

1978-1979      James Burchill, Organist and Choirmaster

1978-1980     Timothy Hagy, Organist

1979-1982     Lenora McCroskey, Organist and Choirmaster

1981-1982       Nancy Cooper, Assistant Organist

1982-1984     Timothy Hagy, Organist and Choirmaster

1984-1989     Scott Shaw, Organist and Choirmaster

1989-1992     John Bodinger, Organist and Choirmaster

1992-1994     Michael Fuerst, Organist and Choirmaster

1994-Pres.     Stephen Kennedy, Organist and Director of Music
Organ Scholars
Lee Wright 1997-1999

William Wisnom 1999-2000
Enrico Contenti 2000-2001

Eric Dombrowski 2001-2002

Zach Hemenway 2002-2006

Michael Goodman 2006-2008

Steven Siegert 2008-2012

Chelsea Barton 2012-2013


Vandelinder Fellows

Nicholas Halbert 2013 – 2014

Kathë Wright Kaufman 2013 – 2016

Prince Nyatanga 2013 – 2014

Jeremy Jelinek 2014 – 2016

Chase Loomer 2014 – 2015